W.ZH Dec 2013
When you install your UCM, by default you will have the a choice of “Automatically assign a content ID on check-in” enabled, this will cause you have no chance to define yourself content ID when you check in/ create a new content. UCM will create content ID automatically for you. But when you have multiple CS and you need content migration between servers, so you need to keep content ID same at all the servers.
If you enable the “Automatically assign a content ID on check-in” and content has ID already when is was created. Can we change the ID when content is migrated from server A to another B?
You cannot change your content ID for old content or in migration.